Our dynamic, multi-talented and cohesive team works to foster partnerships and manage projects in a way that continually fuels advancement of Canadian water issues. We are driven, focused and approachable.

Click on the links to get to know us.

simon courtenay 1

Dr. Simon Courtenay

Scientific Director

(519) 888-4567x35796

Bernadette Conant May 2014

Bernadette Conant

Chief Executive Officer

(519) 888-4567x36171

Simon Glauser 2016

Simon Glauser

Director of Operations

(519) 888-4567x33269

Katrina 2013 cropped

Dr. Katrina Hitchman

Director of Program Development

(519) 888-4567x37943

Kaitlin cropped

Kaitlin Edwards

Events Manager

(519) 888-4567x33288

Jacque Ann Grant

Dr. Jacque-Ann Grant

Municipal Programs Research Intern

(519) 888-4567x39354

Liana Kreamer photo

Liana Kreamer

Communications Manager

(519) 888-4567x39378

Bu Lam

Dr. Bu Lam

Manager of Municipal Programs

(519) 888-4567x39357

Gail Meyer Aug 2015 web

Gail Meyer

Office Administrator

(519) 888-4567x36367

Lyle Schneider

Lyle Schneider

Web and Database Specialist

(519) 888-4567x33266

mark spanjers

Mark Spanjers

Municipal Programs Research Coordinator


Elizabeth Shantz Knowledge Mobilization Officer2

Elizabeth Shantz Vanleeuwen

Knowledge Mobilization and Training Manager

(519) 888-4567x31288

Dr. Simon Courtenay

Scientific Director

(519) 888-4567x35796


Dr. Simon Courtenay was appointed scientific director of Canadian Water Network in 2013. In this role, he leads the development of network initiatives focused on Canadian water management. Simon is also a professor in Environment and Resource Studies at the University of Waterloo.

Simon completed his both his Bachelor and Master of Science at the University of Western Ontario. He received his PhD from the University of British Columbia, where he studied fish behavioural ecology. A postdoctoral fellowship at Fisheries and Oceans Canada’s Gulf Fisheries Centre in Moncton, New Brunswick led to a position as a research scientist, working on salmon assessments and later, estuarine ecology and aquatic monitoring.

In 2005, Simon began a co-location with the Canadian Rivers Institute in the Department of Biology at the University of New Brunswick. The objective of this co-location was to foster research collaborations between DFO and academia on research opportunities. One major opportunity was Canadian Water Network's research to better understand the Saint John River watershed and the subsequent designation of Saint John Harbour as the pilot project for the Canadian Watershed Research Consortium. Simon joined the project and then, working with others, followed the Saint John model to develop New Brunswick’s second node in the Consortium, the Northumberland Strait Environmental Monitoring Partnership.